Book Referees reviewed Nina Solomon’s THE LOVE BOOK


After finishing the novel, the Book Referees reviewer said to expect: “Love. Friendship. Second Chances. Old flames. Unexpected times.”

The story revolves around a group of four women taking a single’s bike trip through Normandy when they discover a mysterious red book about love. Besides a search for true soul mates, the novel is also a serious exploration of the difficulties women routinely encounter when their lives do not turn out the way society, their families, and they themselves may have planned.

“Overall, love will find you at the right time, and I’m thankful this book found me. Everybody needs to read this like, right, now. You won’t regret it.”

THE LOVE BOOK is available from Kaylie Jones Books in January 2015.

Read the full review here. 


Officials continue searching for source of WE ARE ALL CREW confidential book jacket leak


U.S. officials continue an extensive search for the source of an unprecedented leak of confidential documents. Earlier this week a file containing the final cover design for Bill Landauer’s upcoming novel, WE ARE ALL CREW, was distributed globally on a deep web site frequently visited by hackers and black market traders. At this time no leads have been reported but officials are looking for any information leading to the identification of these criminal perpetrators.

The final cover, pictured above, features a blurb from novelist Marlon James (author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF SEVEN KILLINGS): “We Are All Crew is hilarious and sad, slapstick and grotesque, fantastical, phantasmagorical, but never, ever just child’s play.” The novel is officially released in January 2015. For more information, visit Akashic Books.



Kaylie Jones’s THE ANGER MERIDIAN to be released on July 2015


Imprint founder Kaylie Jones’s new novel, THE ANGER MERIDIAN, will be released by Akashic Books in July 2015. Read the description below:

“Merryn Huntley is rudely awakened to the many bad decisions she has made in her life when she is told by two Dallas police officers that her wealthy husband Beau has been killed in a car accident, along with a local waitress. Merryn’s first instinct is to flee in order to protect her nine-year-old daughter, and the only place that feels safe enough is her mother’s beautiful, isolated home in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico.

Merryn’s mother, the redoubtable Bibi, always said to her as a child, When you tell a lie, make sure you keep it as close to the truth as possible, because it will be easier to remember. Ironically, from the moment Merryn arrives, she is forced into twisting the truth—about how much she knew of her husband and his shady business affairs; about her own secret lovers; and most importantly, that she is beginning to doubt the one person who has always been the greatest influence in her life: her mother.

The situation worsens when two FBI agents show up and begin to ask Merryn questions about her husband’s business, which only intensifies her need to continue lying. While Merryn’s perfect world begins to crumble around her, she must decide whether or not she can face the most painful reality of all—that she has been lying to herself her entire life.”

The book is now featured in the Akashic Book Catalogue. 



‘Colgate Scene’ recognized author Laurie Loewenstein as notable alumni

Colgate University recently included an excerpt from Laurie Loewenstein’s UNMENTIONABLES in the Colgate Scene, a publication which recognized alumni who have gone on to write books featuring a strong sense of place. It shared selections from several alumni books along with an author discussion of how they were inspired by real places in their lives.

“To Midwesterners like myself, it is a place of great beauty; of distant horizons where the sky bleaches to white, where windbreaks of catalpas hem farm fields, where the courthouse is ornately fluted. But it is also a place of contradictions, where politeness and conformity glide above deep currents of emotion and sentiment. Where we are both insiders and outsiders — fertile ground in which to explore the true nature of community.”

Read the feature from the Colgate Scene here.

Laurie Loewenstein

UK’s Historical Novel Society Reviewed SING IN THE MORNING, CRY AT NIGHT


The Historical Novel Society, an organization originally founded in the United Kingdom to promote works of historical fiction, recently reviewed Barbara J. Taylor’s SING IN THE MORNING, CRY AT NIGHT. Besides discussing the history of Scranton’s coal industry – describing the city as a character in itself – and immigration from Europe in the early 20th century, the reviewer stated: “This story is at once poignant and hopeful, spiced up by such characters as Billy Sunday, the revivalist, and Grief, the specter who haunts Grace to the very edge of sanity. A rich debut.”

Read the full review here. 

A BRIEF HISTORY OF SEVEN KILLINGS named Publisher’s Weekly Best Book of 2014

Marlon James’s A BRIEF HISTORY OF SEVEN KILLINGS was named one of the Best Books of 2014 by Publisher’s Weekly. The book was described as: “A virtuosic performance detailing three turbulent decades in Jamaican history, centering on the attempted assassination of Bob Marley. The voices of government agents, gang members, ex-girlfriends, and ghosts all contribute, and the result is shocking, cerebral, and exhilarating.”